World Humanist Congress 2014

Exactly a month after graduating from university, I found myself back in halls… except this was a little different from my experience as a student.

I had been given a room at Keble College, Oxford, for four nights. From the moment I entered the grounds, I was blown away. Can you believe that people get to go to university here!?

Keble Quad

 

And eat their meals here?

Keble Hall

 

It was a fantastic experience, but the main reason I was there was to help film the World Humanist Congress. Humanists from across the globe meet every three years, and this year Oxford played host. Most of the sessions took place in the Oxford University Exams Schools and the main plenary sessions were held in the beautiful Sheldonian theatre, which meant that my view of the Congress was this –

WHC2

 

From here I filmed speakers such as Phillip Pullman and Richard Dawkins! It was a fantastic three days in which I learnt a lot about Humanism and further developed my camera operating skills. Being surrounded by academics, philosophers, and scientists in such an intellectual city was rather enlightening. Here’s hoping some of their intelligence has rubbed off on me…!

2 thoughts on “World Humanist Congress 2014

Leave a comment